View Resource File >

Every university engages in research and teaching, but each state also has at least one university specifically charged with the mission to “reach out” to its citizens. Through the Morrill Act of 1862, states were granted federally owned land to develop a university with a federal government-mandated outreach responsibility. These “land-grant” universities were directed by law to translate university research into public non-credit, tax-supported educational programs and resources.